For me, born and raised in ’70s Rust Belt Western Pennsylvania, most of the book’s biscuit-y charm went in one ear and out the Blanche Devereaux. 

However, y’all, one nugget did done stuck! The monogramming! In Whiskey In A Teacup it’s everywhere. Reese Witherspoon even has a monogrammed horseshoe.

Southern Tradition of Monogramming

I learned Southerners will monogram just about anything. [Read 100 Must-Read Works of Southern Literature. ]  According to Southern Living, “monograms are, in fact, a mandatory­­ element of Southern style. They make a statement. They make your statement. Monograms put a personal spin on everything from tote bags and cufflinks to silverware and shams to pillows and pocket squares.” Clearly I’ve been missing out on statement-making. And now I want to monogram my pillowcases like I am a dang Pittsburgh Carnegie. Or Dita von Teese with her creamy monogrammed Smythson agenda on which she uses a No. 2 pencil.  [Bonus: What Are The Best Pens for Your Marginalia?] First stop on Train Monogram?  Get pillowcases worthy of my initials (because I am not there yet with home wares). I believe these are called shams (note to self, ask Reese!). Second: figure out how I want my three initials to be styled. There are many monogram styles,  Reese wants you to know.  From approachable and pixie-ish, fit for a kid to formal and curlicued, fit for a queen.

What monogram style would Scarlet O’Hara choose? Definitely formal. (You can tell from her eyebrows.)

You Monogrammed What?

Full disclosure: I once had a monogrammed backpack! It was given to me by my grandmother (who was Southern by aspiration). I wasn’t ready for it, (I was in high school in Pittsburgh) and I didn’t want to stand out. I blacked out the block letters with thick-point Sharpie. I’m regretful, Gram. In the future I will be more whiskey, less teacup.

Whiskey In A Teacup Inspired Me To Monogram - 22Whiskey In A Teacup Inspired Me To Monogram - 43Whiskey In A Teacup Inspired Me To Monogram - 47