The page (which is available across several social platforms, including Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and has its own merch shop) was started in 2015 by Matt Nelson. In a little over a year, the page gathered over two million followers, went on to publish a book, and even inspired a mobile phone game. Their socials are filled with pictures of good dogs, which are sent to the admins to be given a rating. They usually rate dogs exclusively, but sometimes people do send in some rare animals (see tweet below), and it’s a joy! I mean, sometimes I cry too with some of the posts, but it is mostly a joy. So, I thought: I love dogs, and I love books, so why not combine my love for both of these things and, in We Rate Dogs fashion, rate book covers with dogs on them? — WeRateDogs® (@dog_rates) February 3, 2016 Well, that’s exactly what I did, and below are the results. I hope you have enjoyed this little trip rating book covers with dogs, and the dogs in them. Going by the book description, the dog should be a poodle, but I guess that particular collar would go unnoticed amongst all the curls. Sometimes, one needs to make sacrifices for the sake of fashion. 12/10 for the effort. The cover seems to have completely forgotten the love interest of the main character, but it contains a woman living her best life on the beach alongside two dogs. 13/10. Still, a dog is a dog, and this dog is called Longanisa, a cool name if I’ve heard one. Furthermore, they do seem to be whispering cooking instructions, which makes this already pretty cover chef’s kiss. 14/10. Look at that nose! The fluffy ears! And those eyes don’t lie: they’re begging for food. 14/10 for the close-up shot. Looking at the cover, though, I want to hug this dog and tell them everything will be okay. And I can’t deny the colours are top-notch. 14/10. Also, relatable. 11/10 (lower rating in case their intent is not hunger-related, but truly a bat-shit — read the blurb not to miss this pun, please — intentional murder). Everyone loves a surprise dog, although, going by the title, I do feel robbed of one dog. 14/10. Still, let’s be fair, it’s still a bunch of dogs sleeping on dogs. 15/10. These two seem a bit on edge, which I’d be too if I was living a dog’s life and was then forced to live life like a human (see book description). 13/10. I could probably fix them though and, failing that, they would still look great in a calendar. 14/10. Finally, a cover that promises something and then delivers. Look at all these good babies. 15/10. When setting up your own rating system, remember that, deep inside, these are all great dogs (with the probable exception of Cujo, but… we don’t talk about Cujo). Craving more? Book Riot has a whole archive dedicated to dogs.

We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 28We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 41We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 43We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 54We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 1We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 32We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 98We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 82We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 38We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 83We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 84We Rate Book Covers With Dogs - 31