In this queer contemporary YA mystery, a nonbinary autistic teen realizes they must not only solve a 30-year-old mystery but also face the demons lurking in their past in order to live a satisfying life. After one particularly cringeworthy Christmas concert, my band teacher suggested that maaaaybe band wasn’t my calling. I was disappointed, but mostly relieved. And even though I stayed friends with the band kids (and watched them somewhat wistfully as they practiced their marching in the parking lot once we got to high school), I felt reassured in knowing that it was not for me. Luckily, we’ve seen a little micro trend of marching band YA books hit shelves lately, so I can continue to live out my marching band dreams vicariously! Bonus: If you think these books look great, be sure to check out Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi — it has a delightful bassoon-playing protagonist! Looking for more 3 on a YA Theme? We’ve got you covered!

Marching Band Teens in YA - 25Marching Band Teens in YA - 68Marching Band Teens in YA - 99Marching Band Teens in YA - 46